The Jonesboro Police Department has four divisions, each led by a Captain, to ensure the most efficient service possible.  The four divisions are Administration, Patrol, Criminal Investigations, and Special Services.  Each division contains different units or shifts commanded by a Lieutenant or Sergeant.  To learn more about each division, click on the appropriate link below.


Administration Division

The administrative office of the Jonesboro Police Department includes the Office of the Chief of Police, which also includes the Assistant Chief of Police, an Administrative Captain, Public Information Officer, Community Outreach and Recruiting Officer and the Chief’s Administrative Assistant.

The Administrative Services Captain also oversees the Support Services units of the department, as well as Professional Standards (Internal Affairs) and Accreditation.  Some of the support units include Animal Control and the Records Division.  While some of these units are overseen by and include certified law enforcement officers, many are civilian employees.

Criminal Investigation Division

The Criminal Investigation Division is a 20 member unit tasked with the investigation of all types of crimes, as well as other investigative support functions including polygraph services, property and evidence storage, crime scene investigation and the high-tech or cyber crimes unit.  The division handles a variety of investigations, including crimes against persons and property such as murder, rape, robbery, aggravated assault/battery, burglary, thefts, computer related crimes, forgery and financial crimes.

Detectives are on call 24 hours a day and frequently work varying schedules, but most can be reached during general office hours Monday-Friday at (870) 935-6710.

Patrol Division

Officers of this division are the most familiar to the general public because they are responsible for the 24 hour-a-day task of responding to calls for service, preventing criminal activity, conducting preliminary criminal investigations, apprehending criminals, traffic enforcement, accident investigation and community interaction.

The Division is overseen by a captain, with each shift consisting of from 20-25 officers who fall under the direct supervision of a shift lieutenant, who is assisted by 3 sergeants.

Special Operations Division

The Special Services Division consists of a number of various units who are under the direction of a Captain. This Division is responsible for deployment and monitoring of the activities of the Motorcycle Unit, Tactical Unit, Traffic Unit, D.A.R.E. program, School Resource Officer program, Warrant Unit, Reserve Officer program, and Honor Guard Unit.

All of these specialized units were developed to combat crime or to better serve our community.  These specialized units are trained for specific duties, and each of these units are staffed with specially trained officers and equipment specific to their mission.  The officers who are assigned to these units often do so as an additional responsibility to their regular duty assignment.